The God of Comfort

A couple of days ago Rebekah came into my room in the middle of the night crying.  She had experienced her first nightmare.  As I talked to her about it, I discovered that the dream was about a “sideman” (a man sitting to the side) with white eyes and there were white eyes all around her.  I sympathized with her, comforted her, and then prayed with her and asked the Lord to bring her peace.  After the prayer, she went back to bed and there were no more incidents that night.

The next morning, as I was making breakfast with all the kids scampering around the kitchen, Rebekah asked me to tell Trey about her dream.  She said she was too scared to repeat it and wanted me to do it.  I told her I didn’t think it was necessary to put those images in everyone’s minds and she actually looked a bit relieved that I didn’t share it.

She slept the next night with no trouble that I knew of and I asked her in the morning if she had any bad dreams.  She told me that she had the exact same dream.  However, this time she recalled a portion of the audio CD “God’s Protection Day and Night” by GT and the Halo Express.  She was reminded that God is with her at all times and that she has no reason to be afraid!  She went back to sleep with no trouble and slept great till morning.

This CD is full of verses such as Psalm 56:3 “When I am afraid, I will trust in You” and II Timothy 4:18 “The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom.  To Him be glory forever and ever. Amen.”

On each of the Halo Express CDs, there is an engaging storyline that has to do with a particular theme.  Throughout the story, key verses are put to song to reinforce the theme.  The songs help the verses become memorable and it is easy for my children to recall many of the verses on multiple CDs.

I am so very thankful that God cares about my little girl and her dreams.  It is wonderful to serve a God who never sleeps and is able to bring peace and comfort during the darkest of nights.  It is wonderful to be reminded that He is active in my life and in the lives of my children.  What an incredible comfort to know that He is sovereign over each event, no matter how painful something may seem at the time.  This is the God I want my children to know, trust, and in whom I want them to hope.

I am also grateful that I was able to get uninterrupted sleep that night…a rare and valuable gift these days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The God of Comfort

  1. Lindsay says:

    Those teachable moments will present themselves more and more as your kids get older. Along with spiritually deep questions. Something that I’m learning… Sometimes, in the busyness of life, it’s tempting to give quick answers so that you can get back to cooking dinner, cleaning the floor, etc. I’ve done that on certain occasions and only seconds later I regret losing that precious moment. Setting aside the “I’ve gotta get this done” stuff is ALWAYS worth it.

Leave a comment